top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSari Åström

Kalevala CAL - Part 9 - Kalevala Sea


Today, when we publish our ninth square, is an autumnal equinox in Finland. We say goodbye to summer and say welcome to autumn. Now it is excellent time to dive to the fungus sea in the forest!


You can share pictures of Kalevala Sea square on social media with #kalevalacal_kalevalanmeri. Hashtag for Kalevala CAL is #kalevalacal.

General Kalevala CAL info and all the links to other parts of the blanket project will be found on the Kalevala CAL page on the blog of Arteeni​.


DESIGNER PORTRAIT: Tuula Kyrölä


I am Tuula Kyrölä, a mother of three daughters and a grandmother of two. I’m trained as a craftsman designer in textiles and as an IT teacher. I’m in the process of starting a business where I combine my different areas of expertise. My mother taught me to crochet when I was five. Right from the start, I have wanted to try things out myself and not use ready-made patterns. I love testing and coming up with new ways of doing things, various ways of using stitches and even strange colour combinations. It delights me to see the finished project that I have designed from the start, using my favourite colours. From the other hand, it is relaxing to crochet easy, repetitive projects. In the last number of years, I have started to write patterns and make videos of my designs.

I have designed two squares for the Kalevala CAL: The Kalevala Sea and The Bird Home. The bird home is described as a hot place where birds live. The sky was very close to the ground there, the sky dome touched the ground. Therefore, it was a small, tight place. The reddish shades in my original square indicate the heat. You can see birds in the shapes that go out from the centre of the square. The Kalevala sea could be circled on the west side or you could cross it on the water. The Kalevala Sea square contains various arches and structures that resemble a sea. In both of these squares, I wanted to try techniques I hadn’t used before.

Hint to the crocheters of my squares: Use the videos provided when you crochet the squares.

Favourites of the designer

Yarns: Mix of merino wool and silk, and also glitter yarns

Colours: Strong pink and lilac

Favourite stitch: The V-stitch, I use it everywhere!

Place to crochet: In the summertime out in parks or by the river in my hometown. Otherwise on my sofa, watching TV.

Kalevala Sea

Hints from test crocheters

* Beginner ** EASY *** Average **** Demanding

Rather small RIGHT SIZE Rather big

Colours

Here you can find all the colours needed in every row for different colour packs (Click to see the lists bigger). The colours for the Metsä / Forest -colour pack can be found also on the pattern itself.


Kalevala Sea Pattern

A link to Kalevala Sea video, which works as a support for the written pattern. Videos are done by Tuula Kyrölä.

Other info

You can find pictures of the squares made by other Kalevala CAL participants on Instagram: #kalevalacal #kalevalacal_kalevalanmeri.

General Kalevala CAL info and all the links to other parts of the blanket project will be found on the Kalevala CAL –page on the blog of Arteeni.


2,583 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page