top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSari Åström

Kalevala CAL - Part 14 - Forging the Sampo


After today's square we will need only 10 more squares for the blanket. It sure has been some serious forging of yarn and keeping our hooks hot! Tomorrow, October 10th, is a day of Finnish literature here in Finland. We will also celebrate one of our national authors Aleksis Kivi, who wrote the first significant novel in the Finnish language and his masterpiece "Seven brothers" (published in 1870). This novel has its sturdy status on our bookshelves. If you still haven't read it, please take care of it immediately!


Fiercely vie the winds of heaven, East-wind rushing, West-wind roaring, South-wind crying, North-wind howling, Blow one day and then a second, Blow the third from morn till even, When the fire leaps through the windows, Through the door the sparks fly upward, Clouds of smoke arise to heaven; With the clouds the black smoke mingles, As the storm-winds ply the bellows.

Kalevala poem 10: 393-402

You can share pictures of Forging the Sampo square on social media with #kalevalacal_sammontaonta. Hashtag for Kalevala CAL is #kalevalacal.

General Kalevala CAL info and all the links to other parts of the blanket project will be found on the Kalevala CAL page on the blog of Arteeni​.


DESIGNER PORTRAIT: Marika Nordling

II am 42 years old and a mother of five children, we also a Jack Russell terrier in the family. I am studying to be a Bachelor of designer in textiles, my main subjects are weaving with loom, felting, textile dyeing and textile printing. Weaving is my favourite thing, but I don't have the time for it due to my studying. I learned the basics of crocheting when I was at elementary school. When my kids were small I dreamed that I could crochet better but I didn't have the time with the kids. A couple of years ago I bought my first crcohet book and started to learn again from the beginning.

Nowadays crcoheting is a way of life to me, I have always something going on along with other handicrafts. I design my own artisanal projects.I designed two squares for the Kalevala CAL project: Forging of Sampo and The Theft of Sampo. I got the inspiration by looking different artworks of those themes and by reading some stories of Kalevala. Forging of Sampo describes the motif of Sampo glowing in a hot furnnace, flames flapping and black smoke puffing around. The Theft of Sampo describes the broken Sampo sinking to the sea.

Hint to the crocheters of my squares: If there is something unclear in my pattern, please feel free to ask me help in Facebook or Instagram.

Favourites of the designer:

Yarn: Mixture of wool and polyamide because it is strong and easy to dye. I prefer alpaca to hats and scarfs because it doesn't tickle.

Colour: I like to use lots of colours. My favourite colours are heather red, pink, denim blue and grey.

Favourite stitch: Double crochet, it makes things ready quickly.

Place to crochet: My couch which has enough room to spread my yarns all over and where I can easily change my position.

Forging the Sampo

Hints from test crocheters

* Beginner ** Easy *** AVERAGE **** Demanding

Rather small RIGHT SIZE Rather big

Colours

Here you can find all the colours needed in every row for different colour packs (Click to see the lists bigger). The colours for the Metsä / Forest -colour pack can be found also on the pattern itself.


Forging the Sampo Pattern

A link to Forgning the Sampo video, which works as a support for the written pattern. Videos are done by Iris van Meer.

Other info

You can find pictures of the squares made by other Kalevala CAL participants on Instagram: #kalevalacal #kalevalacal_sammontaonta

General Kalevala CAL info and all the links to other parts of the blanket project will be found on the Kalevala CAL –page on the blog of Arteeni.


2,418 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page