top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSari Åström

Kalevala CAL - Part 2 - Bluebill’s Nest


The second pattern in the Kalevala CAL is Bluebill’s Nest by Taina Tauschi. First, you will make the eggs and then the nest around them.

Photo Challenge: Take a photo of your Nest on your knee and share the picture in the Facebook group or on Instagram!


Thence she flies and hovers slowly,

Lightly on the knee she settles,

Finds a nesting-place befitting,

Where to lay her eggs in safety.

Here she builds her humble dwelling,

Lays her eggs within, at pleasure,

Six, the golden eggs she lays there,

Then a seventh, an egg of iron.

(Poem I, 207 - 212)

You can share pictures of the Bluebill's Nest square on social media with #kalevalacal_sotkanpesa (which is original Finnish name of this square). Hashtags for Kalevala CAL are #kalevalacal and #kalevalacal2017.

General Kalevala CAL info and all the links to other parts of the blanket project will be found on the Kalevala CAL page on the blog of Arteeni​.


Designer Portrait: Taina Tauschi


I am Taina Tauschi and I like many kinds of crafts. Mostly I knit and sew but I also like to crochet. My mother taught me to crochet when I was just a little girl. Making things with my own hands is the most important way for me to relax. The even rhythm of hooks and needles makes me feel calm. As a designer I am a beginner; beforehand I had only designed and created a pattern for a small flower mandala.

The poems of Kalevala were my inspiration when designing my squares for the Kalevala-CAL. The poems and their atmosphere moved me to tears at times. I want to share and instil these emotions to you through four different squares: Bluebill’s Nest, Fertile fields of Väinölä, The Pohjola Wedding and Marjatta.

Hint to the crocheters of my squares: Crochet with your heart and let the Kalevala poems take you on this journey!

Favourites of the designer

Yarns: All natural fibres, especially wool, alpaca, linen and silk

Colours: I like colours and like to use them a lot, but I rarely use colder shades of blue.

Favourite stitch: Chain – simple but beautiful and ingenious!

Place to crochet: Anywhere, anytime, I always carry my handicraft bag with me.

Bluebill's Nest by Taina Tauschi

Hints from test crocheters

* Beginner ** Easy *** Average **** Demanding

Rather small Right size Rather big

The test crocheters have said that the degree of difficulty of Bluebill’s Nest goes from easy to average, but the pattern is very well written and the stitches used are easy. This square requires a little bit of tinkering with the eggs and joining the eggs; just get on with it bravely! Test crocheters’ squares are approximately 1 cm or less smaller than the sample square, but it does not matter much when joining the squares.

Colours

Here you can find all the colours needed in every row for the different colour packs (Click to see the lists bigger). The colour list for the Metsä / Forest -colour pack can be found on the pattern itself.

The Bluebill's Nest Pattern


Links to translations (pdf):

A link to Bluebill's Nest video, which works as a support for the written pattern. Videos are done by Iris van Meer.

Other info

You can find pictures of the squares made by other Kalevala CAL participants on Instagram: #kalevalacal #kalevalacal2017 #kalevalacal_sotkanpesa

General Kalevala CAL info and all the links to other parts of the blanket project will be found on the Kalevala CAL –page on the blog of Arteeni.


5,259 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page