top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSari Åström

Kalevala CAL - Part 8 - Ahto


It is amazing, this is our 8th square. Number 8 reminds of the infinity symbol. It fits perfectly together with the theme of today's square, since ocean seem to be infinite. Until we find the shore again.


Ahto, king of all waters, Ancient king with beard of sea-grass, Raised his head above the billows, in a boat of water-lilies. Glided to the coast in silence; Listened to the wondrous singing. Answered in the words which follow: "Never have I heard such playing, As the songs of this enchanter, This sweet singer, Wainamoinen."

(Kalevala, Poem 41, 130-140)

You can share pictures of Ahto square on social media with #kalevalacal_ahto. Hashtag for Kalevala CAL is #kalevalacal.

General Kalevala CAL info and all the links to other parts of the blanket project will be found on the Kalevala CAL page on the blog of Arteeni​.


DESIGNER PORTRAIT: Anne Vierimaa


My name is Anne Vierimaa. I am a 38 years old mother of four children, two dogs and two horses and a wife of one man. I work as an entrepreneur. My mother and grandmother used to do a lot of handicrafts, and I learnt my first crochet stitches before I was in school age. For me crocheting is some kind of care for soul, bringing out my creativity, joy and inspiration. When I get something done and ready, I feel proud that I myself have designed and made it, and it is a pleasure to show it. Beforehand I have published some patterns of crocheted socks and also some knitting patterns. Some new crochet patterns will be out maybe already in this autumn.

I have designed 3 squares to the Kalevala CAL: Ahto – King of all waters, Harp and The People of Pohjola. The official CAL logo is also my design. With Ahto and The People of Pohjola squares it all started with certain crochet techniques, and when I had gone a little further with them I found the names for the squares. Harp on the other hand based on my childhood memories when I played “kantele”, a traditional Finnish string instrument. In the Kalevala Ahto, the king of waters, is a strong character and that is why I made three-dimensional forms with roaring waves. The people of Pohjola is as such so powerful and mighty nation that I wanted to be a little playful with them: people are standing on the blueberry and lingonberry tussocks with their hands outstretched to express the strength of the folk.

Hint to the crocheters of my squares: It is good to pay attention to your own gauge and to how tight the stitches are. You should make chains quite loosely so that they don’t tighten the whole work. It is always good to read the pattern through before starting crocheting, it makes it easier to follow the pattern.

Favourites of the designer

Yarns: Natural fibres, mostly wool and cotton

Colours: All of them

Favourite stitch: Popcorns and puff stitches

Place to crochet: Armchair in the living room by a window with a view to the forest

AHTO

Hints from test crocheters

* Beginner ** Easy *** AVERAGE **** Demanding

Rather small RIGHT SIZE Rather big

Colours

Here you can find all the colours needed in every row for different colour packs (Click to see the lists bigger). The colours for the Metsä / Forest -colour pack can be found also on the pattern itself.


Ahto Pattern

A link to Ahto video, which works as a support for the written pattern. Videos are done by Iris van Meer.

Other info

You can find pictures of the squares made by other Kalevala CAL participants on Instagram: #kalevalacal #kalevalacal_ahto

General Kalevala CAL info and all the links to other parts of the blanket project will be found on the Kalevala CAL –page on the blog of Arteeni.


3,265 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page